Colin Stokes: How movies teach manhood

Posted: May 30, 2013 in Gender Bias
Tags:

Posted on FB by a friend today, I have to say I really enjoyed watching this particular TED talk. He talks in a very engaging manner about the differences and similarities between The Wizard of Oz and Star Wars. It is the only time I can honestly recall hearing a man talk about the Bechdel Test.

I think what impressed me the most about this talk is that though he is speaking about women’s issues he is focusing on how those issues impact or should impact not just his daughter but his son as well. I love that he makes that leap.

It is a great watch, and very thought provoking.

Leave a Reply

